Building the Perfect Smoothie

Smoothies are my go-to breakfast. They are so simple, quick, delicious and they can pack a pretty epic nutritional punch, which is ideal first thing in the morning. When I have an early morning practice I like to blend up a nice thick smoothie the night before, then all I have to do in the morning is pour it into a bowl and throw some toppings on it and voilà, breakfast! 

There is no “perfect” recipe for a smoothie, but I believe that there is definitely a method for creating the “perfect” smoothie. I personally love green smoothies, but you can really make any kind of smoothie you want, as long as you follow the method your end result should turn out to be pretty damn good.

FullSizeRender 2.jpg

 

The Method

img_0074

  1. I always like to start with a frozen banana as my base. This gives the smoothie a creamy texture, which I’m a big fan of, as well as a nice faint sweetness.
  2. Choosing a secondary fruit (to the bananas) adds a nice sweetness to start your morning. Frozen berries, mango and peaches are all fabulous add-ins.
  3. Next I like to add some kind of green. Kale, spinach and beet greens are my personal favourites, but you can use any greens that you like. For example, swiss chard would work well too.
  4. Adding a healthy fat to your morning smoothie is always a good idea. Nut butters and avocado are awesome smoothie add-ins, nut butter is especially great as it provides both protein and a healthy fat source. I usually add anywhere from 1 teaspoon to a tablespoon of nut butter and 1/4 to 1/2 of a ripe avocado.img_0056
  5. Now for the liquid. I love using nut milk for my liquid because it provides loads of calcium and iron. Water and fruit juice are also options here, but I personally find water to be too bland in smoothies and fruit juice is far too sweet for me.
  6. Now this is the fun part, the extras. I consider spices, seeds, powders, veggies and all that jazz to be extras. This step in the method shows your smoothie creativity, so go nuts! Some great extras are:
  • chia seeds
  • Hemp seeds
  • cinnamon
  • cardamon
  • vanilla
  • celery
  • fresh ginger
  • turmeric
  • cayenne pepper (only a tiny pinch!)
  • cocoa powder
  • protein powder (if you’re into that)
  • carob powder (similar to cocoa powder, but more nutty)

And now you are educated in the great art that is constructing a smoothie. Now get in the kitchen and start blending!

xx

-Ashley

Leave a Reply

